European currency

It’s useful to know the different currencies you'll need while you travel in Europe with a Eurail pass. Not all European countries use the Euro. In fact, 13 of the 28 countries that you can visit by train with a Eurail Global Pass have their own currency.

European currency map

View the map to see which countries use the Euro and which don't, to help you plan your trip.

European currency map

Use the euro (€)

Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Use other currencies

Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

How to change money

Here are the best ways to get the different currencies for your trip:

  • Exchange money into the local currency before you arrive in each country.

  • Withdraw local currency from ATMs (cash machines) once you arrive. There are almost always ATMs at main train stations.

Don't carry too much money with you. Keep your cash in a money belt with your debit/credit cards. It's also a good idea to keep your cards in separate places. That way if one is lost or stolen, you still have a back-up!

Other European currencies


Country Currency Code Symbol
Bosnia-Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina Convertible Mark BAM KM
Bulgaria Bulgarian Lev BGN B
Croatia Croatia Kuna HRK kn
Czech Republic Czech Koruna CZK
Denmark Danish Krone DKK kr
Hungary Hungarian Forint HUF Ft
Norway Norwegian Krone NOK kr
Poland Polish Zloty PLN
Romania Romania New Leu RON lei
Serbia Serbian Dinar RSD РСД
Sweden Swedish Krone SEK kr
Switzerland Swiss Franc CHF CHF
Turkey Turkish Lira YTL kuruş


Back to top