Your order

Currency in Europe

It’s handy to know the different currencies you´ll need on your Eurail rail trip as not all European countries use the Euro. In fact, 14 of the 33 countries you can visit by rail with a Eurail Global Pass have their own currency.

Check out the map to see which countries are using the Euro and which aren’t, to help you plan your trip.


Update: Since January 2023, Croatia also uses the Euro as its national currency.


Eurail currency map

Countries that use the euro (€)

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Countries that use other currencies

Bosnia Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Great Britain (and Northern Ireland), Hungary, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

How to exchange your money

Here are the best ways to get the currencies you'll need on your trip:

  • Exchange money into the local currency before you arrive in each country.

  • Withdraw local currency from an ATM once you arrive. There's almost always an ATM in main train stations.

Don't carry too much cash around with you and keep it in a money belt along with your debit/credit cards. If you have two cards, it's a good idea to keep them in separate places, so if one gets stolen you've still got the other one!


What currencies do other countries use?


Country Currency Code Symbol
Bosnia Herzegovina Bosnian Convertible Marka BAM KM
Bulgaria Bulgarian Lev BGN B
Czech Republic Czech Koruna CZK
Denmark Danish Krone DKK kr
Great Britain (and Northern Ireland) British pound GBP £
Hungary Hungarian Forint HUF Ft
North Macedonia Macedonian Denar MKD ден
Norway Norwegian Krone NOK kr
Poland Polish Zloty PLN
Romania Romania New Leu RON lei
Serbia Serbian Dinar RSD РСД
Sweden Swedish Krone SEK kr
Switzerland Swiss Franc CHF CHF
Turkey Turkish Lira TRL TL


Also good to know